Home – New Forums Starting your journey Start a retail outlet without fashion experience

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    poseidon
    • Total posts: 4
    Up
    ::

Hi, I have been doing a bit of work on starting a retail store based around urban/street clothing and accessories. The hope is to get one store up and running and then open several chains throughout the country.

Skills -I have no experience working in a retail environment and to be honest only a passing interest in fashion. What I do have is a passion for business, I want to create a business model that i can replicate and run according to well defined processes. I enjoy negotiating the business side of things such as negotiating with suppliers, implementing marketing strategies, basically managing the business.

Do I stand a chance in retail, do I need a deep knowledge of fashion. My expectation is that I only need to know how to run a business (the type is irrelevant) as I will rely on suppliers and trade shows/consultants to inform me of the latest fashion trends to get into my stores. Is this naive?

Thanks to everyone that answers.

Paul B.
    • Total posts: 119
    Up

Hi poseidon,

I think its great your having a crack at something you dont know too much about. If you keep your ears and eyes open im sure you will learn the specifics of running a retail outlet very quickly.

I am in a similar position with my e-commerce venture. I personally have little experience/interest in my product but I do enjoy marketing and dealing with customers so it works.

Although going into something new is exciting, it is extremely important to have information readily available to maximise the service you can provide. My partner has been within the industry for 30+ years and can provide me the technical advice I need when dealing with customer queries and ensure our product is what the market demands.

All and all, good luck!

SavvySME
    • Total posts: 201