Home – New Forums Starting your journey Starting a Cafe = Theory?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Alex
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up
    ::

Hi!!

I am new to Flyingsolo community so nice to meet all the wonderful & knowledgeable people out here!

I guess I am here today hoping to get some advices from the past or existing café owners or more of a reality check for me.

A bit of background – I have been stuck behind a desk for the past 6 or 7 years, and until recently I travelled to Japan and visited one of most unique and amazing café which I think the concept could work in Melbourne.

BUT… Here is the big ‘BUT’ …… I have never worked in hospitality before in my entire life (I am 31) so far, so I was thinking to take up a course in Diploma of Hospitality for a year and while I am studying I will be participating in Coffee making, food handling & RSA courses as well as working part time in a café to gain some experience.

Here are my questions for the wonderful and knowledgeable people –

1. Is it worth it to spend around $5000 to take up the Diploma course? Will the theory make up some of my insufficient experience in the industry?

2. What are the biggest reality checks to start-up a café besides the long working hours, not making money in the first 6 months to a year?

3. What is the best advice you could give me for someone like me brand new to the hospitality sector. (It’s okay if you tell me I am dreaming go back to my full time job).

That’s it! Looking forward to those answers!

Alex (Opportunity does not get handed to you on a golden plate, I go and create my own).

Dave Gillen – Former FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 2,566
    Up

Welcome aboard Alex!