Home – New Forums Starting your journey starting a graphics design/CG business

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    3dgraphicswiz
    • Total posts: 14
    Up
    ::

Hello
    I have an arts degree [ironic I know] and a Diploma of Graphics Design/Publishing. Since I got the Dip early last year [2013] I have thought about my future. I found out about 3D software and CG [computer graphics] and have been fascinated by it ever since. I have found that I can think in 3D shapes very easily. Sadly my era in the education system ignored 3D shape abilities completely. So only now have I fully realized that I am good at this.

So over the last year I have bought some top drawer 3D software. I also spent every day learning from various excellent 3D education sites such as Lynda.com. I am not sure what sort of business exactly I want to be. I have various possibilities:

– animation
    – architectural 3D
    – 3D modelling, especially for 3D printing
    – advertising effects for TV, cinema, online etc
    – graphics design either online or print

And I am sure that the above brainstorm only scratches the surface. The only real barrier that I can see that could wreck it is internet technology. I am on a Telstra large business plan. So I have no worries with downloads – my quota is so huge that I couldn’t go over if I tried. I have that plan for the next 2 years. But it is upload that worries me. A quick primer on the internet:

download: what people sent to you online.
    upload: what you send to other people online
    latency: delay as in a voice taking seconds to reach you.