Home – New Forums Starting your journey Starting a retail clothing store

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    soulclothing
    • Total posts: 3
    Up
    ::

Hi there,

I have been operating as a partnership since July 2011 selling women’s fashion online. We want to take the next step and open a retail store within a shopping centre in Sydney. I have a few questions I thought the flying solo community might be able to answer.

How much is a ballpark figure for a commercial lease within a shopping centre? Yes I understand it depends on location, how big the space is and etc. However I want to know should I be expecting for example over 3k a week? I have tried to contact a few leasing managers at shopping centres but they will not disclose this information until they are able to provide me with a draft lease.

We will not be operating our store under the partnership, instead we want to open our store under a company structure, we were thinking of PTY LTD, can anyone explain or give further insight to what they think of this? We were thinking of opening it as a company due to the limited liability and tax %. Yes I understand I should be asking an accountant for this advice, however our accountant (a friend who gives us free advice) has actually travelled overseas at the moment and won’t be back for a few months.

Any other useful tips would be appreciated.

Thanks

Chris – Marketing
    • Total posts: 162
    Up

Hi exciting times ahead.