Home – New Forums Selling online Starting an online store.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    pocupine
    • Total posts: 2
    Up
    ::

Hi Guys,

I had an ebay store for a while and everything goes not too bad.
    But since ebay charges high commission I plan to build my own
    online store.
    I am a sole trader with an ABN but not registered for GST because
    of low turnover.
    Just wondering
    1: Can I sell items on online store without formal invoice and not charging
    GST?
    2: Do I need to get permission from Paypal to get payments going into
    my paypal account?
    3: If my customers want to pay by credit card, Do I need to apply from
    somewhere?
    4: If my website has no SSL, Is it possible my customers’ financial information
    gets stolen?

Thanks in advance.

Regards
    Clement

Gizmo
    • Total posts: 731
    Up

Hello Clement,

With respect to your point numbers:

1) Depends, an accountant is your best source for this answer.

2) I believe you need a paypal business account.

3) You will need a payment gateway. Talk to the people making your website for you.

4) You should always use SSL when collecting any personal and private information from customers, especially payment details.

QuikShoppa
    • Total posts: 3
    Up

Hi Clement,

A. I imagine if you are not registered for GST, you cannot collect it, but as Gizmo says, check with an accountant. Registering for GST is free, and given that you’ll be using services (postage etc) that you’ll be able to claim the GST back on, it may be worth you registering even if your turnover is low.

B. Already answered by Gizmo

C. Customer can pay by credit card using PayPal