• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    bigmem
    • Total posts: 4
    Up
    ::

Gday everyone. Nice to meet you all. Im not very good at blabbing on so ill get straight to the point. Im going to have a good chunk of cash come my way soon. Something in excess of 500k. Now ive got a mortage but id like to invest rather than paying off. Any ideas, suggestions or maybe you have an idea that needs funding.
    Looking forward to your response.
    YNWA

LucasArthur
    Participant
    • Total posts: 3,171
    Up

Howdy,

Curious, why would you not want to pay off your personal mortgage? from a tax perspective, it could be more advantageous to do this and borrow for investing.. but hey, not a lot of into as to why in the post, might pay to seek advice from an accountant to ensure you are on the correct path with appropriate tax strategies as well.

All the best..

J

Jason Ramage | Lucas Arthur Pty Ltd | E: [email protected]   P: 61 3 8324 0344    M: 61 412 244 888
    James Millar
    Participant
    • Total posts: 1,739
    Up
    LucasArthur, post: 268273, member: 34537 wrote:
    Howdy,

Curious, why would you not want to pay off your personal mortgage? from a tax perspective, it could be more advantageous to do this and borrow for investing.. but hey, not a lot of into as to why in the post, might pay to seek advice from an accountant to ensure you are on the correct path with appropriate tax strategies as well.

All the best..

J

Spot on Jason.

bigmem what sort of risk profile applies to you? Do you want to put this all in a high risk investment like small to medium business?

Helping build better businesses and better lives with expert financial and taxation advice. [email protected] www.360partners.com.au 03 9005 4900
    bigmem
    Up
    LucasArthur, post: 268273, member: 34537 wrote:
    Howdy,

All the best..

J