Home – New Forums Starting your journey Taking on first new ad-hoc hire

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Claud Hamilton
    • Total posts: 2
    Up
    ::

Hi all

Background:
    I operate a two-person business providing an IT consulting service to a single client. My client (a large US corporation) has approached me with the CV of a guy that they wish to take on as a permanent member of staff, but their internal onboarding process is really slow. However, as they have an immediate need for his services, they wish for us to employee him on a contract basis to be paid hourly rate for hours worked. The idea being that he will become a permanent member of staff of the client after 2-3 months.

In theory, I have no issue with this as I have been working with this client for 10 years (mostly through an agency, only recently directly).

However, as we have no legal team nor past experience of taking on new staff, we don’t really know where to start or what our obligations are. The two employees of the business (myself and my partner) draw earnings for hours worked only as directed by the client. If the client has no work, we don’t get paid. We don’t pay ourselves annual leave nor sick pay. As I understand it, this is acceptable when an employee is considered “casual”.

My questions then are these:

1. Is it legal to include terms for no sick/annual leave in a Master Agreement for employees as long as the agreement states that the employee is “casual”?
    2. What are our legal obligations, beyond:
      • requesting TFN declaration,
      • witholding PAYG,
      • paying super at 9.25%,
      • payment of wages
      • issuing pay advices
      • where might I find a good (preferably free) Master Agreement (or template) that I can use as employment contract?