Home – New Forums Starting your journey Tax accounting firm or Bookkeeping firm?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up
    ::

Hi everyone, i came across this site while searching the internet. I am looking to run my own business. But as a newbie, i donot really know where to start.

Anyway, there are two types of business i am particularly interested in. Tax accounting firm and Bookkeeping firm. I am CPA qualified and i have experience in many areas, such as taxation, business services, financial planning, etc.

My question is,

1. Would you start a Bookkeeping business in a less crowded area(as in regional area with lots of small businesses)? or Would you start a tax accounting firm in metro areas where you will be probably up against heaps of competitors?

2. Where can i find data and statistics on things like how many businesses are operating in an area? How much competition you have in that area? etc. ABS, google, and yellowpage are the main ones i am using, but other than these three sources, has anyone used anything else?

Cheers.
    Lee

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Hi Lee,

Welcome to Flying Solo :)

It’s great to see you doing your due diligence before jumping in the deep end.

I’ll be interested to see the type of responses you get to your questions.

Jayne

Chris – Marketing
    • Total posts: 162
    Up

Hi, when I am approached by new clients who are mainly small business I find my first task is to get their books in order. I generally suggest a bookkeeper who knows their way around QBooks and can come on site. I like Qbooks but MOB or similar are ok.
    So I Believe there is a real market for bookkeepers who can help small business by first, bringing the client up to spend, then training the client to use the program, and lastly offering a continuious services including BAS Statements. Don’t worry about competition just get the word out.

CindyK