Home – New Forums Money matters Tax help with leasing property

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Welfare
    • Total posts: 2
    Up
    ::

Hi All,
    I have a tax related question regarding what type of property I could lease to use essentially as a place of business, and be able to claim the rent as a tax deduction.
    We (my family and I) will be moving to Phillip Island but I will need a base in Melbourne (city). I’m a broadcast designer who works with computers, so it is not a prerequisite from a practical point of view that my (small) business is run from what is considered a commercial property. Also it would be handy to have a place to crash when I need to be in the city regularly – saving money on hotels. I would need the place in the city to be closer to clients, as a place to meet clients, and to work with others as I need to as well as a place to work when I’m not working from home.
    I am not sure however if I was to rent a non commercial property, which would suit my purposes better, how this would be viewed by the ATO when claiming it as a business expense although it quite obviously is. I can’t find much in the way of helpfull advice for this particular circumstance and my accountant believes the percentage I could claim is pretty low, making renting cost prohibitive, while I have heard other opinions that say I should be able to claim any property used entirely for business. It seems to be right in the grey area, does anybody have a similar situation or any tax advice? I’d really just like to know what the rules are before I make any decisions as even accountants opinions vary on this one.
    Kind Regards, and thanks in advance for any advice given.
    Andy.

bb1
    Participant
    • Total posts: 4,485
    Up
    Welfare, post: 197631 wrote:
    Hi All,
    Also it would be handy to have a place to crash when I need to be in the city regularly – saving money on hotels.