Home – New Forums Money matters Tax questions from a novice …

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    JK2013
    • Total posts: 4
    Up
    ::

Hi Flying Solo community

I’ve got 3 novice questions:

* I am a sole trader and have earned $155,000 so far this year with about $50,000 of deductions/expenses. I’ve set aside about $50,000 to pay tax, but wondering if there’s any quick & easy way (other than waiting for my accountant to work it out) that I can work out what my liable tax is likely to be?

* Also, my husband is a full-time student and on occasion does some unofficial sub-contracting for me. It makes sense for me to “pay him” to create an expense against the business and reduce my tax, but is that allowed? Can you pay a family member let alone a husband as a sub-contractor? (He has his own BAS number)

* Then, I’m having a baby in 10 weeks, which means my husband and I both won’t have any active income coming in. I’m looking at the Parental Leave Pay provided by government as an option for the first few months.

Does anyone know:
    a) You must earn less than $150k in previous financial year – does it matter if some of my invoices are paid in the next financial year (one of my contracts is 60 days payment terms)
    b) Is $150k adjusted taxable income (ie income after expenses?)

Any help on above would be greatly appreciated.
    JK

JacquiPryor
    • Total posts: 2,344
    Up

Hi JK,

If you are operating as a sole trader, earning 155K per year then you should also be registered for GST. This is required if you are turning over more than 75K so keep that in mind if you haven’t already registered.

You can view income tax rates at the ATO website here: http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/content.aspx?doc=/content/12333.htm&mnu=42904&mfp=001/002

If your taxable income is $80,000 – $180,000 then your tax will be $17,547 plus 37c for each $1 over $80,000 according to their site.