Home – New Forums Starting your journey Tax time is coming. I need help

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Muges
    • Total posts: 38
    Up
    ::

Hi all, I’m a new business owner (online retail) and I’m not registered for GST as I’m below the $75,000 threshold. I run this business on the side as I also have a full time job. When I do my tax return for my full time job what will I need to do with regards to my online business. I have invoices for my sold items through my website but I also trade on eBay with my business name so what happens there?

Thanks

Past-Member
    • Total posts: 1,815
    Up

The financial year is 1st July to 30 June.
    Read more at the ATO Individual here
    http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/pathway.aspx?sid=42&pc=001/002/006&mfp=001&mnu=42496#001_002_006

The business page for ATO (incuding you) is at
    http://www.ato.gov.au/businesses/content/45518.htm

An accountant is a great asset to have even at this stage of your business – their fees are tax deductible for the following year. And they will be able to advise you what is best for you in your circumstances.

Cheers.

KellyB
    • Total posts: 65
    Up

Basically you need to total up all your income, all your expenses and calculate your profit. This profit will then get added onto your income from your full time job and you pay tax at whatever your relevant rate is.

As Karen has suggested, getting a (great) accountant is probably a good idea now that you are running a business as tax gets a bit more complicated once uu are self employed!

Regards
    Kelly

Muges
    • Total posts: 38
    Up

So the $75000 threshold is the combined income or just the income from my business?

Jason@Plumsale
    • Total posts: 155
    Up

No the $75K is only for the income from the business only. It does not include your income from employment.