Home – New Forums Tech talk Tips & hints needed for starting an e-commerce store

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    rjbb
    • Total posts: 4
    Up
    ::

I am new to FS and currently in the development stage of my small business, making and selling hand crafted baby & children’s items. I have been researching sales & marketing options and are considering an online store.

I am trying to gain as much knowledge as possible before making the plunge and would appreciate any advice anyone has to offer regarding starting an e-commerce store.

I have browsed some of the websites of businesses that provide hosting services however I am not quite sure where to start. Initially my business will be small, I will be operating as a sole trader, with a view to expanding in the future. My aim is to start with up to 12 different products, so I would like to be able to display the products in on the site, as well as options available for the products such as different fabrics, colours, sizing etc and also a description of the product.

I would like to keep the costs of establishing a website as minimal as possible. I have noticed that there are many DIY site builder options, would this be a feasible avenue to pursue? Would there be issues with DIY sites and shopping carts? I am also unsure as to how much web space I would need for a small online store and how does backing up my site work? Is that something that I need to do myself or would that be done through web hosting. Anything else that I should know about, fire away too!

This is all new to me, and as previously said, any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
    Bec.

websitedesigner
    • Total posts: 917
    Up