Home – New Forums Logistics Total cost of importing a product

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    hyp121
    • Total posts: 7
    Up
    ::

I am planning on my first product import deal, I want to buy a large number of USB memory sticks from China. For example, if they are $3 each FOB, how do I accurately calculate the total cost of getting a USB drive? by knowing that I can add my margin onto it for profit.

I am a newbie for this kind of stuff…Here is my thought of the cost will be involved until they arrive my house.
    Product FOB cost + shipping cost + import tax + Australia local delivery cost. Are there any fees will be involved? ie. Custom clearance cost?

Thanks!

MyGreatIdea
    • Total posts: 2,278
    Up

Those costs are all to be factored in, but you’ve forgotten the most important ones…the operating costs.

Registration fees, telephone, hosting, advertising, the list is endless. Your time as well. Calculate the hours you spend from placing an order to delivering to your customers.

Great to make a large profit on each shipment, but not if it only equates to $2 an hour !!

Wendy :)

Johny
    • Total posts: 840
    Up

I cannot offer too much in the way of pricing, but can tell you this:-

1. Make sure to confirm the pricing is FOB as a lot of USB manufacturers will provide ex/w prices, which does not include the handling costs for getting the products to port

2. You need to consider insurance. Some take it out, others don’t to try and save a few $. Up to you, but consider the consequences of not doing it.

But, as you mentioned that you are doing this for the first time, I would also like to add some additional comment that may be useful.