Home – New Forums Starting your journey Trade Mark help please

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Jellie
    • Total posts: 22
    Up
    ::

Hi Everyone,

I’m just in the process of starting my business so a complete newbie :), I spoke with a trade mark attorney about trade marking my name and logo but I have no idea what it’s supposed to cost. I’m looking at probably 3 classes, thanks so much in advance :)

This is what I got quoted:

Costs
    Costs for one trade mark in one class in Australia are $1800 (incl. GST and government fees of $330).

Costs for one trade mark in two classes in Australia are $2350 (incl. GST and government fees of $660).

Costs for one trade mark in two classes in Australia are $2900 (incl. GST and government fees of $660).

Paul – FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 3,488
    Up

[USER=20176]@JacquiPryor[/USER] may be able to help you.

Good luck.

Jellie
    Up

Thanks Paul hopefully she sees this :)

Paul – FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 3,488
    Up

If not, here is her website link – http://www.mmwtrademarks.com.au/

JacquiPryor
    • Total posts: 2,344
    Up

Hi Jellie…. “She” has seen it :)

The pricing you have been quoted, inclusive of a $330 per class government fee indicates an application via the pre-filing assessment type of application the government offers. A standard application is currently waiting 6-7 months to be examined so these pre-filing assessments are a really good idea for new businesses as they provide a result within about 5 days as to whether your proposed brand is likely to be approved versus waiting that full 6-7 months. It also provides an opportunity to change the trademark, if needed, whereas a standard application once examined in 6 months would not allow you to chance the mark to something else.