Home – New Forums Starting your journey Trademark vs Registering Business

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    ZannMichaels
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Hi folks, I’m new to Flying Solo but loving it so far!

I have a question about trademarking that I’m hoping someone can help me with – I have registered my business name in QLD, but as it’s an online business I fully intend to have customers throughout Australia. Should/could I register my business in each state, or am i better off just trademarking my business name?

Any help you can provide will be much appreciated!

Suzanne

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up
    Shazanne, post: 46969 wrote:
    Hi folks, I’m new to Flying Solo but loving it so far!

Hi Suzanne :)

We love that you’ve found us!

I’m sure someone will be along with some answers for you shortly.

All the best,
    Jayne

victorng
    • Total posts: 626
    Up

Hi Suzanne

From early 2011, there will actually be a national business names register managed by ASIC. I believe each State will have a system to transfer State registrations to the national register.

Having said that, registering a trade mark is a good idea. A registered business name doesn’t give you any proprietary right over the name.

There’s some basic info about trade marks vs business names on my blog: http://www.buzzlaw.info/2009/11/trade-marks-101/.

Cheers
    Victor

^ This isn’t legal advice – I’m just shooting the breeze

Snakeman
    Participant
    • Total posts: 329
    Up

Trademark vs Registering Business (experience)

Well, I am not a lawyer so cannot give legal advice.
    But here’s my own take on it with experience in this area.
    My own business of reptile shows and education seems benign, but in recent years has been infiltrated by some shockingly unethical people.