Home – New Forums Starting your journey Unique Business startup help

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    themixedtape
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Hi There members,

AS a hobby I have been starting websites and creating apps and finding ways to monetize them. I have had numerous failures but a few successes. I am aiming to turn this hobby into a side business but do not know how to go about it.

Do you start as a sole trader or as a pty ltd? In either of these scenarios I would like to draw a small salary but ultimately reinvest profits into developing or acquiring new websites or apps.

I am new to all of this so any tips would be great.
    Thank you for your time

Tony Manto
    Participant
    • Total posts: 581
    Up

I would just start out as a sole trader. So you need to register a ABN. It will say your name T/A business name. You don’t have to do a BAS or claim GST until you earn over $75,000. You will have to declare your income at tax time.

My Guy
    • Total posts: 47
    Up

Starting out in a business through Apps would probably be accepting payments through external sources like

– App Store
    – Android Market

Correct me if I am wrong!

Customers don’t really care if you are a pty ltd or a sole trader, your accountant also probably does care either.

Most businesses that are services & product based usually are better as a company straight from the bat for numerous reasons which I won’t go into detail about.

BUT!

I would be concerned about your liability issues with being a sole trader and having a whole web of international competitors that you could be treading on….

easycompanies.com.au allow you to create a company within 24 hours.

It costs roughly $480

You then have to apply for a TFN & ABN for that company which can be done online also or through your accountant for not much more than a consult fee…