Home – New Forums Tech talk Unlimited Remote IT Support

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Mike@Homedesk
    • Total posts: 2
    Up
    ::

G’day all,

I was hoping for some feedback from the good people here at Flyingsolo on a new business model I’m looking to implement.

I have been running a solo IT business for about 8 years and am looking for some different and more cost effective ways to support my residential customers. Previously we have always been hourly rate onsite work, but remote support is becoming more and more prevalent. I was thinking something like:

Unlimited remote support for $30 a month for 1 device plus $10 per extra device (PCs or Tablets).

This would be a 12 month contract billed monthly or yearly via credit card.

What do you all think? Is it something you would find useful?

Appreciate any feedback, thank you.

Warm regards,
    Mike
    Homedesk – Your helpdesk for home

Dave Gillen – Former FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 2,566
    Up

Hi Mike,

Firstly, welcome to Flying Solo! And congrats on 8 years flying solo, that’s an achievement that many of us would be glad to emulate.

My feedback on your idea:
    1) Good idea.
    2) Personally I’d want all my devices to be covered by the basic fee, otherwise what’s the point of having a dude you can call for some devices but not others. If you’re my dude, then you’re my dude. Two rates might work, PC-only vs The Lot, but prob not each device. Especially when a family might easily have 6+ devices.
    3) Price. People can easily do the maths – does $360 per year make sense for your customers based on what they typically spend on your services? If people typically spend $180 per visit, once per year, then it might not make a lot of sense (for them).

Now forget everything I just said. Because you need to ask your customers.