Home – New Forums Tell me straight… updated webdesign portfolio

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Craig_Longmuir
    • Total posts: 556
    Up
    ::

hey all

have just given my freelance web design portfolio a facelift

http://www.craiglongmuir.com

any comments welcome.

ray_223
    • Total posts: 594
    Up

Hi Craig,

(I’m no expert), but I’ll comment anyway :)

The top logo is way to small and not easy to read.

The scrolling portfolio section takes up most of your real estate above the fold (it’s a nice effect but I think it takes too much away from the rest of your page).

Your front page copy is weak, it’s all about what you do as opposed what you can do your your customer.

Although I don’t mind the simple design I believe you need to have a little more glitz and glamor to sell in the webdesign business these days – as an example (I haven’t done this) – but do a google search in Australia for web designers and look at the first 3-6 and compare how they present compared to your site. Ask family members, strangers (anyone), at first glance you would choose to build a site for you – and why did you make that choice.

Good luck

Craig_Longmuir
    Up

thanks for the comments

what browser size are you using? its optimised for 1024 and the content fits for that. i do not support 800×600 screens.

would agree on the copy…any suggestions from copywriters welcome :)

craig

ray_223
    • Total posts: 594
    Up
    craiglongmuir.com, post: 30612 wrote:
    [snip]
    what browser size are you using? its optimised for 1024 and the content fits for that. i do not support 800×600 screens.
    [snip]
    craig

1152×864 on 24 inch monitor

Craig_Longmuir
    Up

so it should cut off just under the second para right?

and on 1024 after the 1st para

as long as the user can see the 1st para to know there is more im happy there

vxd
    • Total posts: 78
    Up