Home – New Forums Money matters Volunteers – what’s the impact on tax?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    WvdL
    • Total posts: 25
    Up
    ::

Hi all,

I am a designer of digital scrapbooking supplies and operate as a sole trader. In this industry it is common to have a ‘Creative Team’. A creative team member is someone who makes digital scrapbooking layouts with the designer’s products and posts them to galleries, their blog, social media sites etc and in general just promotes the designer and their products. In return, the creative team member gets free access to the designer’s digital products. So no real money is involved. They do sign a contract (to confirm the above described) and to protect my business for copyright issues for example.

My question is: does having a creative team have any impact on my tax?
    I cannot seem to find any info on this topic and have been trying to contact the ATO all day, but can’t get a hold of them.

Any info would be highly appreciated!

Healthy Personal Finances
    • Total posts: 194
    Up

Providing they don’t meet the definition of a paid employee (which it seems they don’t especially with the contract in place), then I don’t see how it would impact your tax.
    If the salary is zero, there is no superannuation or PAYG with holding that you need to worry about. It does mean that as they are not employees, you cannot claim any expenses in relation to them either.

Hope this helps.
    Stacey

al.giffard
    • Total posts: 97
    Up

Hi there WvdL,

The short answer is no, your volunteers are unlikely to impact your tax. It shouldn’t really impact any area of your business for tax purposes.

Hope that helps. Did you have any particular concern about how it might impact?

Al

WvdL
    Up

Thanks guys!