Home – New Forums Money matters Wasn’t registered for GST

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    jlbcine
    • Total posts: 3
    Up
    ::

Hey Guys,

very novice question but i am just in a bit of a pickle.

I am a freelance filmmaker and was behind in doing my tax, finally i got myself a bookkeeper and just did the 11-12 tax year. We discussed that my gross turnover was too high and i had not registered for GST, therefor i had not been charging it on my invoices.

My accountant called me friday and said because i had not registered for gst but had had a turnover of about 120k i had to pay the gst on my operating profit, about 80k i believe.

Anyway, i understand i should have registered but as it stands i havent been charging gst on any of my invoices and seems odd that it would be crushing small buisness like that.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers, james

DME
    • Total posts: 24
    Up

Call the ATO and ask. They are very helpful and a very under utilised resource when it comes to tax questions.

From memory if you don’t register for GST when required you are liable to pay GST on applicable sales above the $75,000 GST threshold which in your case would be on $45,000 resulting in $4090.91 in owing GST. Again call the ATO, they may well count your GST paid on purchases you have tax invoices for against it, wave what you owe or charge you a lesser amount as long as you actually register for GST now that it is required.

jlbcine, post: 163674 wrote: