Home – New Forums Starting your journey Web Design Essentials

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    John Baillie
    • Total posts: 5
    Up
    ::

Hi All,

I am a student of web designing and just near to complete my training. I am going to start my own web design and marketing business but before going in the rink, i wanna know some essential things relating to web designing.

I am thinking that what a normal person will consider while hiring a web designer? I personally think that he/she will first look at past experience, samples of previous work, reviews, price indeed, timeframe etc etc. But i think these are the normal things which every body consider. I wanna know something or some tips which stand me out from others and make me uncommon from my potential competitors. It’s just the start of my business and career so i wanna know something very workable.

Please contribute all…

flintrock
    • Total posts: 2
    Up

Hi John,
    It is really essential that you have a body of commercial work that you can show potential clients. I know that it is a chicken and egg situation (how do you get experience when no one gives you work) but a good way around this is to do some voluntary work – not freebies for commercial organisations, but rather for some charities.

I have also found that it’s a good idea to develop niche markets, as owners of steel fabrication businesses (for example) would be much more interested to see sites that you made for their competitors than anything you might have done for wedding photographers.

At the end of the day the only reason anyone wants a website is to sell product or service. If you can show that you know how to do this (and have the tenacity to stick with it) ultimately you must succeed.

Good luck

16k_zx81
    • Total posts: 43
    Up
    John Baillie, post: 124014 wrote:
    Hi All,