Home – New Forums Starting your journey Web design super cheap – maybe too cheap?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Becca
    • Total posts: 38
    Up
    ::

I recently came across a wed designer who was advertising to do a complete website inclusive of hosting charges and domain registration for $150.00 a year. Was a complete website no limit on pages or anything as well as unlimited hosting…

Being a web designer myself I just cant see how this would be feasible given the amount of work that goes into each site… so I am just wondering out of curiosity how many people would be willing to take advantage of such an offer?

I really just love how there was a comparison on site and I (as well as any typical web designer) were branded as being rip off merchants and taking advantage of people because we charge normal rates…. I personally am thinking what the…

Melinda B
    • Total posts: 349
    Up

Really? I’d run the other way if I was quoted that. Wonder how bad their support is?

TizzBizz
    • Total posts: 28
    Up

Hey there Becca,

The first thing that came to my mind was “what’s the catch?”

Cause with those costs (domain name, hosting…) against $150 a year, I recon this has to be something in there not being openly shown. Of course, I could be mucho wrongo.

Cheers,
    Kristian

Becca
    Up

Hi Melinda / Hi Kristian,

My thoughts exactly, if i needed something designed I would run as well. They say the more traditional designers are the ones taking advantage of people because they know no better – I am inclined to say that they are.

They also claim that you get support and maintenance for the year as well, I am seriously questioning how legit the business is. I know very bad of me but it just doesn’t seem right.

Had me questioning my own pricing for a moment and I am very reasonable, with the amount of time and effort I put into each of my designs I just couldn’t justify doing it for that kind of money!