Home – New Forums Tech talk Website Hits from Brazil

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Taylored
    • Total posts: 44
    Up
    ::

Hi All,

I wonder if one or more of you smart people could help me please. I have a basic html website hosted by Ventraip. Google analytics show that historically it gets maybe one or two hits a day. its a bookkeepers / Accountants website with 4 pages, no functions and acts mainly as a information page for my business. Its been up for ages.

Any way, in recent months that one or two hits has become three to five and ateast half of the hits come from Brazil?? I am a regional accountant in SA. Most hits come from Adelaide / Sydney and Melbourne which seems logical but now from Brazil and strangely only there, not Europe or anywhere and lots of them. Some randoms from the US and the like but its got me wondering.

Could I have been hacked and my site is being used for something like bouncing of spam or something worse? How would I know and how can I find out. It seems a little strange and I thought I would ask here. I have been on this site for a few years now under another name so apologies if the new name doesn’t have any posts.

Thanks

Marc

Lucinda Lions
    • Total posts: 104
    Up

Hi Taylored

Welcome to the forum, even though you’ve been here before under a different name. :)

That’s very curious, and hopefully some of our smart forumites can assist with your question.

In the meantime, you may want to add a few details to your signature so we know who you are. To do that, visit the Control panel (the link is in the grey bar above the forum) and choose Edit signature.

Lucinda :)

mypresences
    • Total posts: 32
    Up

Hi Marc … are the hits coming from semalt.com in google analytics?

If so they are just an annoying botnet that crawls the net indexing information .. it is not malicious.