Home – New Forums Tell me straight… What do you want from your web designer?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    kobo
    • Total posts: 17
    Up
    ::

Hi all,

I am a web developer and I am putting together some packages for clients. I want to know from the public rather than from my existing clients what they want in their web designer.

I am particularly trying to target soloists like myself as I see this bringing in long term relationships as well as a more personal level of service.

I am tossing up on a few ideas (listed below), but these are based on what my current clients say they like about me – not what they don’t like or wish I did.

1. cheap template based website packages which allow you to edit your own content
    2. custom design, but at a fixed rate. also able to edit own website
    3. any design, but charged on a monthly basis rather than full payment before launch
    4. full custom service based on a variable price

I currently supply the last one, and although it is going well, I feel it isn’t the right option for most soloists – especially start-ups.

Apart from that, I would also appreciate some feedback on what you are looking for as a client (if you have the time and motivation of course).

Thanks in advance,

Joe

P.S. I will be taking your thoughts and opinions and you should see the results on my website: http://www.kobo.com.au

Paul Murphy
    • Total posts: 45
    Up

Hi Joe,

I think that list you have created covers all the bases – would you consider offering them all as options?

I notice that you brand your CMS as Kobo CMS, though it does look like drupal is being used (at least on your own site).

We were considering the idea of self-branding our chosen open source CMS. We do a lot of setup and customisation out of the box before the customer sees it, so there is some merit in it – it isn’t vanilla.