Home – New Forums Tech talk What email program to use?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    BrisVegasGhost
    • Total posts: 49
    Up
    ::

My trusty old Lenovo has been slowing down of late so I have purchased a new laptop.
    I am currently transferring required files across before it completely dies.
    I have been using Microsoft outlook on this for the past 4 years.

Does anyone have any suggestions on email programs? I do want to link about 4 emails to the program. It will only be for low to moderate use by myself.
    I have seen a few, Mozilla Thunderbird, Opera, Mailbird, Windows Live mail..

I have no problem with Outlook but was interested in others thoughts.
    If sticking with outlook I would have to get the program to my new laptop? And is there a way to save your current emails and contacts or transfer them.
    Yep, I am no good at this tech side of things.
    Cheers,
    BVG

Anthony Michaud
    • Total posts: 66
    Up

It depends on what other programs you use and what your email source is. If you’re using a CRM product, MYOB or something locally that integrates into Outlook to send/examine email, you’ll probably have to keep using it.

With regards to the source – if you’re using Gmail for your email source, web or Thunderbird are the better options. If you’re using 365/Exchange email, you almost have to use Outlook.

It also depends on how technologically savvy you are – if you’re easily able to adapt to a new program, and pickup the shortcuts / icon location / etc. quickly, then you should be OK to change. If you’re a little slower, and it will impact you significantly with using a new program, then you have additional weight to stick with Outlook.

gingerbeardhs
    • Total posts: 90
    Up