Home – New Forums Tech talk What is this panda thing? SEO

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    HappyCamper
    • Total posts: 42
    Up
    ::

In a nutshell- I think my website took a hit on 25 January 2013. Big drop in traffic, and the guys I use for SEO don’t seem to have an answer. So I spent heaps of time on the weekend trying to get to the bottom of it and found that there are a PANDA update 25 around the 25 Jan.

There is so much information about these updates and that they do affect your website- but I can’t find some simple steps for what you need to do to fix it!

I don’t have any crazy linking that would have downgraded me, I put lots of content on and have new products changing in and out.

I’ve been running this website for 6 years and have always been on page 1 of google for organic search- now you can’t even find me on page 10!

Have attached a stats graph which shows the crazy drop off and in analytics I can see it is exactly on 25 Jan.

I’m happy to do the work to fix it, but I don’t know what to do.

If anyone has any links on what you need to do to fix your website when it is affected by a panda update I would really appreciate it.

Tiggerito
    • Total posts: 362
    Up

You really want to dig deeper and find out what you were ranking for before (pages/keywords) and what you lost. It may give you a clue on what parts of the website caused your problem.

Panda is about content quality. One of the first thing I check on an ecommerce site is if the product descriptions are original or just copied from the manufacturer. If a high percentage of your website is not original then why should Google send people to it? So Panda may weed out those sorts of websites.