Home – New Forums Tech talk What measures do you look at to track your business?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    websitedesigner
    • Total posts: 917
    Up
    ::

Hi guys I’m interested in what other people look at to determine if their business is on track.

At the moment each quarter I go through all of the following things and track in Excel where I am at. I’ve been doing it for 5 years.

I’ve posted this in the tech forum because I’m interested in things you look at a system for rather than anecdotal things like number of customers who walked in the door type thing.

What do you look at?

1. Revenue – I check Xero for this
    2. Number of recurring clients – Xero
    3. Blog subscribers – Feedburner
    4. Twitter followers – Twitter.com
    5. Newsletter subscribers – We have our own newsletter system
    6. Average monthly site visits – Google Analytics
    7. No of testimonials – Guestbook plugin on my website
    8. Facebook likes – Facebook.com
    9. Klout score – Klout.com
    bridiej
    • Total posts: 1,097
    Up

I keep a check on:

1. My income – I use an Excel spreadsheet to log all work and keep a running total, both monthly and annual income, so I can see if I’m on target.

2. Website visitors – also using Analytics.

3. Number of people who have read my newsletter – number of subscribers is all well and good but if no-one’s reading it then it’s a bit pointless.

Personally, I think number of twitter followers is irrelevant, and don’t get me started on Klout! 😮

Steve_Minshall
    • Total posts: 518
    Up

Daily:
    Sales so far for month in $, % of budget for month, % of same month/last year.

Monthly
    Sales: in $ and % of budget, also compared to same month for last 8 years (but mainly last year).
    Sales in $ per product class compared to previous year.
    Sales in $ per advertising method.