Home – New Forums Other discussions What to do sham contract?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Deps
    • Total posts: 3
    Up
    ::

Hey guys I’m stuck in a delema atm…

I currently drive a medium rigid truck for my boss that he owns and does everything to eg( pays for diesel, maintenance, services etc etc) all I need to worry about is to do what I’m told. I have been working there for 5 1/2 years now. I do roughly 55 hours a week all year round for a company he has me working at. He “apparently gets paid 35$ a hour there and he pays me 16.33$ a hour. I Started this job when I was 21.

To work for him he got me to sign up and get a abn and pay me a set wage of 850 a week since day one. I seen a new account last week and he informed me I should be getting much more per hour… I never worried about my pay because I love my job but I looked into it and the minimum wage for my work is 22.50$ a hour casual.

I think I would be classed as a employee and I would be entitled to back pay? Would this be one of those sham contracts where he can pay me under minimum wage and avoid paying me penalties rates, super etc?

If I confront him about this issue he’s the ” my way or the highway type of boss and not sure how he would handle it”

Past-Member
    • Total posts: 1,815
    Up

Do you receive pay slips with tax taken out each week?
    Do you receive a Group Certificate at the end of each financial year to do your tax return?
    Are you covered by their insurance or do you have to do your own?
    Do you receive sick pay and holiday pay?
    Do you get super etc.?

I would strongly suggest you talk to someone professional about this.
    You can read up more at Fair Work Australia as well.
    https://www.fwc.gov.au/audience/employees