Home Forums Money matters Which accounting software best suits my small business?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    pinot88
    • Total posts: 5

Hi all,

I am an auto-dismantler looking to transition towards a digital medium (with STP reporting as well) and am looking at which platform out there is best suited to what I need. I’m a small business owner.

Business Model

• Purchase whole vehicles from ex-insurance stock, private sales etc.
    • Dismantle parts and store them on the shelf.
    • Sell parts to generate profit. Sales are made as cash, cheque and EFT.
      • No current POS system for now. We track via an invoice book that I update via spreadsheet.
    • Pay wages and overheads to keep the business operating. Mix of cash, cheque and EFT.
    • I use a spreadsheet to track a few simple metrics such as revenue and all expenses. My accountant handles BAS by instalment and at EOFY, determines the net GST payable. I provide all the receipts for him to do calculations. He also handles my tax affairs at EOFY.

In order to track COGS, I complete a stock-take every quarter to value the existing stock. COGS = Opening Stock Value + Stock Value – Stock Remaining.. COGS is then used as part of P/L calculations.

I would like an accounting platform that will let me:

• Use bank feeds to pull all my online transactions together and categorize it.
    • Allow me to input all my cash sales into the accounting software to develop a true performance picture.
    • Allow me to input COGS or stock remaining so I can continually evaluate profit reliably.

Would most platforms support this? And if so, is there anything I need to know or should I best speak to an accountant?

Thanks
    Kevin

Paul – FS Concierge
    • Total posts: 3,120

Xero is the easy answer and well worth considering as they will keep on top of all of the changes that occur in the Australian landscape eg, they have a JobKeeper report.