Home – New Forums Other discussions Which proposal would you be more willing to read?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    brookethechicken
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Hi everyone,

I’m new to forums, and I’m a new business owner. I wanted to ask existing business owners a question and it dawned on me that this might be a good way to do it.

A tiny bit of background: My husband and I brought the business that we have been working in for the last 4 years in January this year. We are in a client based industry and are wanting to increase that base. I’m in the midst of putting a proposal together that I want to give to the local business’s that are around us. The proposal is, I believe, very easy for these businesses, I’m not asking them to do anything, other than to agree to it. It will basically be that when a consumer spends X dollars in their business, they receive a complimentary voucher to ours.

The thing is, my writing style is a bit free flowing. That is, I guess I write with a personal edge, not in an unprofessional way, but as though I’m having a conversation with the person. Dont get me wrong, I can write, and used to do that for a living, but one of the things I’ve found people like about my writing is that personal angle as opposed to the all business structure. Though I’ve never used it in this context, to get someones attention and then ask them for help.

So my question is, do you think it makes a difference, if you received it, would it make a difference to your decision or your view of the proposal or if you even read it in the first place? Would you be any more likely to pay attention to one over the other?

Thanks so much for taking the time, I really appreciate it and at this point of owning my first ever business, can really use it.

Burgo
    Participant
    • Total posts: 2,104
    Up

Welcome to the forum. Your proposition sounds interesting.