The Smart WFM Australian Business Book Awards are back!

- August 17, 2022 2 MIN READ
Trophy sitting atop pile of books

If there’s one thing we LOVE here at Flying Solo, it’s a great book written by a fellow business owner, sharing all the wonderful wisdom they’ve learned in their own journey. We’ve interviewed quite a few of them on the Flying Solo podcast this year, so we’re excited to share that the fourth annual Smart WFM Australian Business Book Awards are back and entries are open now until August 26.

The Smart WFM Australian Business Book Awards recognise entrepreneurs, business people and business owners who have written and published a book demonstrating their industry skill, knowledge and experience.

The Awards will donate all profits to the Indigenous Literacy Foundation, which invests in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander remote communities to shape the direction of their children’s literacy future.

Business authors “vitally important for our economy”

Jarrod McGrath, Smart WFM’s CEO and author of The Digital Workforce and upcoming book, The Modern CEO, says business authors make an important contribution to the economy and indigenous literacy.

“The Australian Business Book Awards tick every box for us,” said McGrath. “They are supporting, encouraging and acknowledging Australian business authors which is vitally important for our economy and the future of our country. The Awards are not-for-profit, supporting the Indigenous Literacy Foundation. This is an organisation that does incredible work, and we are very proud to know that our support ultimately supports indigenous literacy in Australia.”

Bestselling author and co-founder of the Awards, Andrew Griffiths, says the Awards have already made a significant contribution to the Foundation, and he’s aiming for 2022 to be their biggest year yet.

“These Awards serve the very positive purpose of acknowledging and celebrating Australian non-fiction business authors,” said Griffiths. “In the time the Awards have been running, we have been able to donate more than $35,000 to the Indigenous Literacy Foundation. This would not have been possible without the extraordinary support and generosity of Jarrod and Michelle McGrath, as well as the Smart WFM team.”

This year the Awards will introduce a new judging advisory panel with approximately 50 judges to give careful consideration to the diverse types of non-fiction business books being written and published.

Categories for the 2022 Awards include:

  • Entrepreneurship and Small Business

  • Social Responsibility

  • Personal Development

  • Communications and Sales

  • Personal Finance and Investment

  • Management and HR

  • Leadership

  • Technology

  • Health and Wellbeing

  • General Business

All books will also be considered for Best Cover Design and Book of the Year.

Entries are open until Friday 26th August 2022. Winners will be unveiled on Tuesday 22nd November at an online awards event. For more information and to enter, visit

Join the soloist movement. Whether you are new to Flying Solo or looking to grow your business, our membership options will help you attract more leads, grow your network and sharpen your business skills.  Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest news and advice straight to your inbox.

Now read this: 

And the winner is … you! Why you should start entering business awards

Here’s why you need to upgrade your Flying Solo membership pronto!

  • Share your business journey in an exclusive member profile
  • Get free lifetime access to our Going It Alone digital course
  • Participate in members-only events and experiences
  • Boost your business’ visibility with a Directory listing

$149.95 + GST
Billed annually
  • Andrew Caska

    Caska IP Patent Attorneys

    'Flying Solo opened up so many doors for us - I honestly don't know where I'd be without it"